Lowther Hills Circular
- 7stanes Ae Forest
- 7stanes Dalbeattie
- 7stanes Kirroughtree
- 7stanes Mabie
- Carrick Forest
- Clatteringshaws Loch
- Drumlanrig Castle to St Johns Town of Dalry
- Glentrool and Clatteringshaws Loch
- Lochinvar Circular
- Lowther Hills and the River Clyde
- Lowther Hills Circular
- Newton Stewart to the Isle of Whithorn
- Stranraer to Dunbar
- Stranraer to Newton Stewart
- The Merrick Circle
Learn about Dumfries & Galloway's proud mining heritage and see the oldest post office in Britian on this picturesque circular route which takes in some of the region's most historic towns and villages.
This circular route passes through the Lowther Hills. From Mennock you climb to Wanlockhead, Scotland’s highest village, a 300 metre climb. The route is generally hilly but with fine open views.
With a length of 469 metres, Wanlockhead is a little village with a long history. It's name originates from the Gaelic Cuingealach, meaning narrowness or narrow place, and there are remains of roads and a fort from the times when the Romans mined gold and lead here. Take a step back in time to the days when miners extracted and smelted lead ore, residing in thatched cottages at The Museum of Lead Mining. Explore the mine and enjoy a bite to eat in the tea room.
Just beyond Wanlockhead is Leadhillsthe other former mining village of Leadhills characterised by clusters of white and grey stone cottages. Allan Ramsay, one of Scotland's most illustrious poets was born in Leadhills in 1685. It was through his influence that a library was formed in 1741, allowing lead miners and their families access to books which can be visited today. Equally famous was William Symington, born in Leadhills in 1763, who worked as a mechanic in the Wanlockhead mine. In 1787 he patented an engine for road locomotion and in 1802 he built the Charlotte Dundas at Grangemouth, one of the first practical steamboats ever built.
Continue on the B797, going downhill at last, then turn left towards Crawfordjohn, a short climb then a further descent. Between Crawfordjohn and Sanquhar it's nearly all descent, the open moorland slowly changing into farms and trees as you approach Sanquhar.
Do not use the A76 to get from Sanquhar to Mennock; use the following instructions to get to the minor road on the other side of the river. Shortly before Sanquhar, cruising down the B740 you pass under a stone railway bridge, turn left and cross Crawick Water on a metal footbridge. Turn right after this and pass behind a housing estate, keep on to the church ahead. Cross the main road and follow the signs for tourist information. Follow the one way system past Burns Lodge, left to Queens Road opposite a pond, pass a park on the left and turn left over a bridge to cross the River Nith.
Visit Sanquhar Tolbooth Museum is located in Sanquhar Townhouse which is one of the most handsome early Georgian townhouses in the country. Located on the A76, its displays include example of Sanquhar knitting, a famous tradition, and exhibits on the lives of the miners. It also said to be home to the oldest post office in Britian, a small shop at 39-41 High Street built in 1763.
SearchSkip search forms
Search for accommodation
Search for attractions
Search for events
Search for activities
Sign up now to receive regular e-newsletters and be the first to hear about the latest news, exciting events and festivals.
Order Dumfries and Galloway Brochures & Guides, such as the Accommodation Guide, Visitors Guide, Golf Guide, Walking Guide & Cycling Guide.